Category Archives: News

Nhojj Gives Beyonce’s “Love On Top” A Marvin Gaye Soulful Sound

“Have you ever heard a Beyonce tune covered in a laid-back soulful lounge vibe, excluding her slow jams? New York R&B singer Nhojj put folky-soul spin on Beyonce’s #1 hit single “Love On Top.”

Nhojj, known for his mellow soulful voice and acoustic repertoire, covered a Beyonce tune that is full of pizzazz and brass. The result is an early 1970′s Marvin Gaye-esque jam that serves as milder groove to the original. Though I love the original, I can play Nhojj’s version over and over because it packs the same feel-good vibe as the original in a stripped version. In fact, I have played this song over and over.”

G List Society


Nhojj Same-Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs

Award winning Caribbean singer Nhojj pushes the envelope with his upcoming February 14 CD release Made to Love Him – Celebrating Love.  For his 5th studio album Nhojj performs same-sex renditions of classic love songs spanning 10 decades.

nhojj made to Love him albumart 600x600 Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases

3x OUTMusic Award winner Nhojj releases Made to Love Him: Celebrating Love – a compilation of 12 classic love songs spanning 10 decades.  Set for a Valentines Day release, with pre-orders available now on iTunes, the album features standards written by such greats as George and Ira Gershwin, Luther Vandross, Stevie Wonder, Beyonce, Harold Arlen and E.Y Harburg, Holland-Dozier-Holland, Billy Joel, India.Arie and Nhojj himself.

“I’ve always loved Stevie Wonder’s classic,” says Nhojj about the inspiration for the title.  “It speaks of childhood stirrings, recognizing true love, and standing up to family objections.  This is my story, and the story of so many LGBTQ people around the world.  I began to hear the lyrics with male pronouns and I could feel old wounds healing – what a fresh way to demonstrate the normality of my sexuality.”

onaje allan gumbs 600x398 Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases
Onaje Allan Gumbs

Nhojj has been expressing his sexuality through his music for almost a decade. His music video Love depicts the romance of two black men, and Amazing Grace depicts an interracial male couple exchanging marriage vows.  Singles like Bromance and the #1 OutVoice songs He & Him and Adam & Steve all honor the love “that dare not speak its name”.   His work has featured on LOGO, and Centric TV’s Soul Sessions. But Nhojj proclaims, “I feel this is my best album yet, I took chances I haven’t taken before and I’m proud of the result.” This new album is definitely a bold move from an artist who has made a musical career of following his internal compass into unchartered waters.

 Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases
Marcelo Cardozo

Preliminary work for Made To Love Him started in the spring of 2012, after Nhojj performed at the first Out & Proud First Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum.  Nhojj and executive producer Ron San Marchi compiled a long list of songs and started the almost impossible process of elimination that would result in the 12 recorded tracks. Recording took place in New York City and Arlington, Virginia over 3 weeks during the summer of 2013.

Nhojj Music Studio Recording Session LR Edits 34 600x905 Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases
Lonnie Plaxico

“We’re bombarded with messages of tell us we are not normal,” the soft spoken singer explains.  “I need ways to combat these sometimes subtle, but no less damaging attacks on my identity.  Music protects my soul.  My music is my own personal revolution.  Songs have always been a powerful champion for change:  Enslaved Africans had negro spirituals, the civil rights movement had freedom songs, and the anti-war movement had protest songs.”

swiss chris 600x397 Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases
Swiss Chris

Made To Love Him smoothly blends Jazz, Rhythm, Blues, and Reggae and boasts a diverse array of talent:  Swiss Chris on drums (John Legend), Lonnie Plaxico on bass (Cassandra Wilson), NAACP award nominated pianist Onaje Allen Gumbs, Tona Brown and Aida String Quartet (first trans woman for perform for a sitting President), Yael Acher (out lesbian flutist), and longtime guitarist Marcelo Cardozo.  The album is co-produced with John F. Adams (Amy Winehouse, Keith Sweat) and mastered by Robert Honablue (Roberta Flack, Miles Davis, Barbara Streisand).  Recording and rehearsals were filmed by Emmy nominated Michael Burlingame for an upcoming documentary.

nhojj johnfadams Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases
John F. Adams & Nhojj

“I am very grateful to be living in a time when Made To Love Him could be released and even celebrated”  Nhojj explains, “In addition to expressing my truth, I wanted this album to pay tribute to the artists who lived in a society that was less accepting – artists like Johnny Mathis.  I sing out for him and all others who came before me.”

1. Over The Rainbow
2. Nature Boy
3. He Heals Me
4. He’s Got a Way
5. How Sweet It Is
6. Someone to Watch Over Me
7. Waiting for You
8. So Amazing
9. Twelfth of Never
10. Love on Top
11. I Was Made to Love Him
12. Our Love Is Here to Stay

Download now at iTunes, Amazon Nhojj Same Sex Versions of Classic Love Songs press releases , and CDBaby.